Bogaerts, Profar, Wong top prospects again has named Bangor World Series alumni Xander Bogaerts and Jurickson Profar among top shortstop prospects and Kolten Wong among top second base prospects.
Souvenirs sold out
All Senior League Baseball World Series souvenirs are sold out.

Contact Us

August 9 through August 16, 2014

The OFFICIAL Website of the Senior League Baseball World Series

January 11, 2014
Alumni adjusting in the majors

While World Series alumni Kolten Wong, Xander Bogaerts, and Jonathan Schoop made their Major League Baseball debuts late this past season, alumni who have taken the journey before them to the upper echelon of players made adjustments on baseball’s biggest stage.

Philadelphia Phillies right fielder Domonic Brown, named the organization’s top prospect in 2010, had a break-out month in May and ended the 2013 Major League Baseball season as the Phillies’ top power hitter while winning the team’s MVP award.

The 2004 alumnus (Dade City Little League, Dade City, Fla.) made his Major League debut in July 2010, with Phillies fans having high hopes for the then-22-year-old. He doubled off the right field wall in his first plate appearance. Then he fizzled, batting only .210 in 35 games that season, with three doubles and two home runs. In 2011, Brown hit .245, with 10 doubles and five home runs. However, the Phillies limited him to only 56 games and sent him back to AAA Lehigh Valley (Pa.).

In 2012, Brown broke a bone in his wrist during spring training, causing him to miss the first two months of the regular season. He again sputtered, hitting .235 with 11 doubles and five home runs in 56 games.

Critics weren’t necessarily critical of Brown as much as they were of the Phillies for constantly bouncing Brown between Lehigh Valley and Philadelphia and trying to change Brown’s swing, which had a tendency to be too long and sweeping for the 6-foot-6 lefthander.


January 11, 2014
Jarmuz, Macias, Takemura top hitters in ’13 series

jarmuz_IGP0188Kennett Square’s Drew Jarmuz, Northside’s Sergio Macias, and Pearl City’s Kawaiola Takemura were the top three hitters in the 2013 Senior League Baseball World Series, as they found themselves either at the top or near the top of every offensive category.

All three tied for the series lead in batting average, at .500. They were joined by Chitre’s Luis Alonso and ILLAM Central’s Diego Lozano.

Primarily an outfielder for the U.S. East champ from Kennett Square, Pa., Jarmuz also led all hitters in base hits (10), doubles (2), hit by pitches (3), and on-base percentage (.615). He finished second in total bases (12), stolen bases (4), and runs (7), finished third in on-base percentage + slugging [percentage (1.215), and finished fourth in slugging percentage (.600).

January 11, 2014
Garcia, Sandoval, Krenz were top pitchers in 2013

garcia_IGP1166Chitre Little League’s Javier Garcia was a familiar name at or near the top of every major pitching category for the 2013 World Series. The 6-foot, 210-pound righthander for the World Series champions from Chitre, Herrera, Panama, tied for the series lead in wins (2), tied for most complete games (1), led for most strikeouts (16) and walks and hits per innings pitched (0.73), and finished second for lowest opponents batting average (.132) and strikeouts-to-walks ratio (5.33).

Garcia teammate Edgardo Sandoval wasn’t far behind. The 5-10, 173-pound righthander waqs fourth in ERA (0.57), fourth in innings pitched (12.1), tied for first in complete games (1), led in shutouts (1), finished second in strikeouts (15), finished third in WHIP (0.89), fourth in lowest opponents batting average (.186), third in strikeouts-to-walks ratio (5.00), and tied for first in pick-offs (1).


August 29, 2013
Little League, ESPN extend deal through 2022

imgp0120082913Little League International and ESPN have agreed on an eight-year television contract that will begin in 2015, the two sides announced earlier this week.

ESPN’s current contract with Little League, which took effect in 2007, ends next year. The new contract will run from 2015 through 2022.

The new deal is worth at least $60 million – more than double the value of the current contract. Under the terms, ESPN will have exclusive rights to broadcast all U.S. regional and World Series games for all nine divisions of Little League Baseball and Softball. The rights also include Internet broadcasts.

“The new agreement will allow Little League Baseball and Softball to further advance our dedicated work of providing positive life experiences for kids both on and off the field,” Little League International President and Chief Executive Officer Stephen Keener said in a statement. “We recognize the great value in this extension, as it will allow us to implement new initiatives, while continuing to offer important benefits such as keeping local league fees low.”

Hot Links
Little League International State of Maine City of Bangor Maine Tourism Association